Blog · Book Review

Review: Under A Dark Summer Sky – Vanessa Lafaye

9781492612506-PRGeneral

Under A Dark Summer Sky by Vanessa Lafaye

Pages: 400

Genre: Historical Fiction, Fiction

Publisher: Sourcebook Landmark, June 2015

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 3.5/5

*I received an ebook from Netgalley in exchange of an honest review*

Plot Summary
Huron Key is already weighed down with secrets when a random act of violence and a rush to judgment viscerally tear the town apart. As the little island burns under the sun and the weight of past decisions, a devastating storm based on the third-strongest Atlantic Hurricane on record approaches, matching the anger of men with the full fury of the skies. Beautifully written and seductive, UNDER A DARK SUMMER SKY is at once a glorious love story, a fascinating slice of social history, and a mesmerizing account of what it’s like to be in the eye of a hurricane.”

Favorites
This was very much different from the normal books I’m used to reading. I felt like the writing style is really unique and the author did a great job with the phrasing. I loved the description and the imagery well embedded into the writing.

Not-So-Faves
Although the premise of the book was interesting, I felt like my personal interest in this time period was not very high. It was difficult to stay extremely engaged at times due to the lack of interest I felt.

Rating

Plot: 3.5/5
Writing Style: 4/5
Characters: 3.5

Overall Rating: 3.5/5

Final Thoughts
This is definitely not a book I would normally pick up. It is a historical fiction, which I don’t read regularly. Although it was very well written, I feel like my lack of interest of the setting the book was set in made it a little less enjoyable for me. I would definitely suggest this to anyone who is interested in historical fiction, this would be perfect for you!

Ps. This book comes out on June 9th if you are interested in grabbing a copy!

love, Jeanette.

Leave a Reply

