Blog · Wrap Up

May Wrap Up

If you follow me on Instagram, you’ve probably already seen my May Wrap Up. But I’m going to go into a little more detail with this post.

SAM_5996

So, in the month of May, I read around 11 books. 1 for school and 10 personal reads. This is actually much more than I expected because I was swarmed with midterms and papers this month.

Book for classes completed:
[1] No Mud, No Lotus by Thich Nhat Hanh – This was a pretty interesting read. It takes a philosophical approach towards Buddhist perspective on mindfulness and happiness. Although I am not Buddhist, I found this book provides techniques to live happily no matter what religion you are. I didn’t write a full review for it, however, I gave it 4/5 stars on Goodreads.

Personal reads completed:
[1] The Rosie Project: 5/5 stars, this is a contemporary romance adult read. It was really interesting and I thought it was really cute. I’m waiting for the sequel to come in the mail so I can read it! You can check out my full review here.
[2] The Wrath & The Dawn: 5/5 stars, this is a new released book in May. I was really anticipating it, you saw me talk about it in my Top 10 post on books I need in my life. It was beautiful, I’m so glad I picked it up. You can find my full review here.
[3] Lola & The Boy Next Door: 4.5/5 stars, this is the 2nd book in the Anna & The French Kiss companion series. I bought this book in April and decided to pick it up and read it this month. I really liked it! I loved Lola & Cricket. However, I still truly liked Anna more because that was just more of my type of story. You can find my full review on Lola here.
[4] The Summer I Turned Pretty: 4/5 stars, full review here.
[5] It’s Not Summer Without You: 4/5 stars, full review here.
[6] We’ll Always Have Summer: 3/5 stars, full review here. Overall, I enjoyed this trilogy, this last book was kind of disappointing to me, but I still recommend these books to anyone looking for a light read.
[7] The Selection: 4/5 stars, full review here.
[8] The Elite: 4/5 stars, full review here.
[9] The One: 4.5/5 stars, full review here. Overall, this series was a delight to read. I really liked it. I recommend it to anyone who’s into cutesy romance, fairytale type of stories + dystopian reads. I plan to pick up the Heir soon and read it as well.
[10] It’s Kind Of A Funny Story: 4/5 stars, this was my final read of May and it was pretty good. It is definitely much different from anything else I’ve read this month which was refreshing. I highly recommend this book if you haven’t read any books that pertain to mental health because although this book deals with a serious problem, it remains very relatable. Full review here.

Books I’ve started but haven’t finished:
[1] 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami, I’m around 300 pages into this book at this point. I like it so far, it’s not that I don’t want to finish it… Murakami’s writing is very rich and it’s difficult for me to read too much of it at once. That’s why I took a break from it to read other things. Nevertheless, I hope to finish it next month! Only around 800 pages left…

[2] One More Thing: Stories & Other Stories by B.J. Novak, a compilation of short stories that I borrowed from my school library. I’ve only read 2 of the short stories so far. I’m not sure if I like it or not yet.

Thanks for joining me today! How did your month of reading go?

love, Jeanette

Leave a Reply

