Blog · diary

Diary: Summer Reading Plan

I still have school for another 10 days, counting down the days until all this dreadful quarter is over…

I have a huge plan for summer. If you’ve followed me on Goodreads, you might have seen this as well. My goal to read 100 books in 2015. Yes, 100.

So, you may or may not know this, but I was in a huge reading slump before I opened my blog back in April. I only read a handful of books in 2014 (mainly during the summer), and before April of 2015, I hadn’t read any books not related to school. In April, I read around 5 books. In May, I read 10 (+1 for school). The total books I’ve read in 2015 so far is only 17.

Why do I want to read 100 books? Because books are my escape from reality. I’m about to finish up my first year of college, and honestly, it was extremely stressful and was much more difficult than I expected it to be. I love to read so much, I’ve just lost touch with my inner bookworm over the past few years. How will I read 100 books? Well, right now, I’ve only completed 17 books,  leaving me 83 books left. If I want to spread it out evenly, I need to read around 12 books a month for the last 7 months of this year. 12 books a month is a lot, so that’s why, this summer, while I have time, I’m going to try to lesson that load.

My Summer Reading Plan
I have officially around 3 months of summer, however I will have summer school for at least one month of it. Depending on what class I will be taking, this will leave me with around only 2 months of time to read a lot. So, my goal is to read 25 books in June & July. 25?!?? I must be crazy. I might just be my friend, but I really want to achieve this goal, and reading 25 books each month will leave me with only the need to read 6 books a month for the rest of the year (which is for sure manageable).
During May, I bought around 46 books, and I have some more coming in for June so I will definitely have enough to read, the problem is just reading it. I also hope to participate in a few readathons during this summer. Maybe a buddy read or two if I find anyone who is interested.

I know my plan sounds crazy, but I know that I can stick to it if I write it down here. I’d be happy if I can reduce the amount of my unread books as much as possible during summer.

What are your summer reading plans?
Thanks for joining me today!

love, Jeanette

6 thoughts on “Diary: Summer Reading Plan

Leave a Reply

