Blog · Book Review

Review: It’s Kind Of A Funny Story – Ned Vizzini

SAM_5808

General
It’s Kind Of A Funny Story by Ned Vizzini
Pages: 444
Genre: Young Adult, Mental Health, Contemporary
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion, May 2007

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 4/5

*I purchased this book with my own money*

Plot Summary
It’s Kind of A Funny Story revolves around a 15 year old boy named Craig. Craig is in one of the most prestigious high schools in New York, but he suffers from clinical depression. He can’t keep down his food, he always feels so pressured to do well. He’s tried medicine, psychiatrist, but he doesn’t feel better. When Craig almost attempts to kill himself, he gets checked into a mental hospital where he finds his way to happiness.

Favorites
The character development in this book is on point! It’s so touching and beautiful to see how to characters develop and grow on you. I was honestly invested in Craig’s journey throughout the novel. The way that Craig’s character develop throughout the book shows the astounding journey he went through to discover himself.
The writing style of Vizzini was very interesting as well. It was witty, definitely. Although the main topic of the book is a serious subject, Vizzini presented the story in a way that we can actually connect with and understand.
Another part I really liked was the plot development… The way that the story presented was so unique, but definitely engaging.

Not-So-Faves
I can’t pinpoint anything about this book I didn’t particularly like. The only thing I wish was different has nothing to do with the actual book — it was the font size that the book was printed it. It was oddly large…

Rating
Plot: 4/5
Writing Style: 4.5/5
Characters: 4/5

Overall Rating: 4/5

Final Thoughts
Honestly, this is one of the books that have been sitting on my shelf for almost a year now. I picked this book as part of my new TBR jar, and I’m glad this was the first read from that. This was an eye-opener for me. I can’t recall ever reading a book before with heavy subjects such as depression or suicide. I would honestly definitely recommend this book to anyone who is comfortable enough with those subjects. If you are worrying about the sadness of this book, it’s not. Vizzini has this way of staying true to the story’s message, yet making it still readable and not heavy. I feel like Craig’s journey is very inspirational, and I found this read overall to be very enjoyable.

Thanks for reading my review, if you’ve read this book before I’d love to hear your thoughts below!

love, Jeanette

5 thoughts on “Review: It’s Kind Of A Funny Story – Ned Vizzini

Leave a Reply

