Blog · Book Review

Review: The Elite – Kiera Cass

SAM_5941

General
The Elite by Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection (Book 2)
Pages: 352
Genre: Dystopian, Young Adult, Fiction, Romance
Publisher: HarperTeen, April 2013

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 4/5

*I purchased this book with my own money*

Plot Summary
This is the second novel of The Selection series. If you haven’t read The Selection (Book 1), I would suggest you don’t read this book because it may contain spoilers if you haven’t read anything from The Selection series. In the second installment of the series, America continues to struggle between her choice of Maxon or Aspen. However, she is not the only one, the prince himself also has to make a choice.

Favorites
In this installment, I felt like the writing style was much more smoother than the first book. I really enjoyed it. The character development in this book was really good! I liked the way that the characters had developed. Since there aren’t that many girls left, we were able to learn to love the few characters that are left. There was more of a focus, which is good.

I also felt that there more details about Maxon as a person which I really enjoyed.

Not So Faves
I really disliked the “reintroduction” of the concepts of the world in this book. It was kind of annoying to see all these concepts get re-introduced. For example, America thinking to herself how she used to be a Five then went into an explanation of the caste system.

I also felt like the plot was a little dragging out in this book. It just felt like a lot of filler chapters. I felt like I needed more.

Rating

Plot – 3.5/5
Writing Style – 4/5
Characters – 4.5/5

Overall – 4/5

Final Thoughts

I did enjoy the second book of The Selection novel as well. However, I felt like it wasn’t as satisfying as it could have been. It was interesting but I kept waiting for more to develop, the world they lived in and the plot to develop more. If I didn’t have the last book already to continue reading, I probably wouldn’t have too happy. Overall, it was a decently good book. It received a 4/5 overall from me because I really liked the character development and complication of relationships in this book.

Thanks for reading! Hope you enjoyed this review, I will be back with a review of The One very soon!

love, Jeanette

One thought on “Review: The Elite – Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

