Blog · Book Review

Review: The Selection – Kiera Cass

SAM_5793

General
The Selection by Kiera Cass
Series: The Selection (Book 1)
Pages: 327
Genre: Dystopian, Young Adult, Fiction, Romance
Publisher: HarperTeen, April 2012

Links: Goodreads // Amazon
Overall Rating: 4/5

*I purchased this book with my own money*

Plot Summary
The Selection is a novel that is placed in a future dystopian society. In this society, every one is ranked by numbers with One being the top. The main character, America, is chosen to be part of The Selection with 35 other girls. The Selection is the chance of a lifetime to be able to move up in rank and marry the prince and become the queen. However, America is in love with a boy back home… Prince Maxon is the perfect dream, but who will America choose?

Favorites
I thought the plot was really cute. It’s definitely a lighthearted read which I needed at the moment so it was perfect. I also really love the characters. I love the characters that I’m supposed to, I hate the ones I’m supposed to.
I love the “world” that The Selection takes place in. It was really interesting, learning about the whole ordeal of being a one, versus being a two etc.
I also really like the premise the book started in, it was a good “starting” point for a story to begin.
Once the story started to pick up, it was really interesting.

Not So Faves
I felt like some parts, the writing was a little bit awkwardly phrased. Also, the first bit of the book was not big enough of a hook, I read it a few times before I really understood what was happening and it kind of frustrated me a bit.
I wish there was a bit more to the first book. The ending of it felt kind of rushed for me, too much happened in a little bit of time.

Rating

Plot – 4/5
Writing Style – 3.5/5
Characters – 4.5/5

Overall – 4/5

Final Thoughts
This was really a light read. It only took me around 2.5-3 hours to finish the entire book. It personally reminded me of Princess Academy, which was a childhood favorite of mine — probably why I really liked this book. I feel like it was a good start for The Selection series, I am definitely drawn into the plot and want to continue reading the rest of the series. I feel like certain points of the book could have been solidified more to make an overall better book, however, it is overall pretty good. I am really invested in the relationships between America and Prince Maxon etc. I also thought that there was a good share of really cute moments in the book to make it a very lighthearted read — including romance, family, and friendship.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is interested in fairytale like stories or books set in a dystopian society. It’s also perfect for anyone looking for a lighthearted and quick read.

Thank you for reading my review of The Selection! Hope you all had a great day and enjoyed this review!

love, Jeanette

5 thoughts on “Review: The Selection – Kiera Cass

  1. I have to agree about the parts seeming rushed and the fact that it was a short read. I hadn’t noticed the connection to Princess Academy, but I do now! Honestly I enjoyed this much more than I thought I would.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

