Blog · Top 10

Top 10 Songs On My Reading Playlist (May Edition)

I was on a roll with The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy, unfortunately, it’s been a pretty busy week. I’m a college student and it’s week 7, endless papers and midterms, only to lead to finals. Nevertheless, that is the reason why my reviews are slowing down (1Q84 is a heavy read and it might take me awhile to finish).
Anyways, today I am here with my recent music playlist for when I read. You can follow my Spotify reading playlist here. I’m currently working on updating it, but it’s the playlist I use if I’m reading (or studying sometimes).

*The songs are sorted in no particular order*

Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 5.35.19 PM*Like I’m Gonna Lose You – Meghan Trainor & John Legend
This is a really sweet song by Meghan Trainor and John Legend. It seriously puts a small smile on my face every time I hear it come on.

Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 5.43.41 PM*Dance Me To The End Of Love – Civil War

I first heard this song in an episode of Vampire Diaries (one of my beloved shows). It’s such a bittersweet song, perfect for some more heavy reading.

Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 5.40.45 PM

*Violet Hills – Coldplay
This song has always spoken to me. The thing about Coldplay’s songs is that, it always seems to be telling a story. When I hear the words, “Was a long and dark December, from the rooftop I remember”, I feel like I’m there on that cold rooftop. It’s just a special way that Coldplay music speaks to me.
Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 5.44.40 PM*Lost Stars – Adam Levine
This is actually one of my all time favorite songs. It was for the movie “Begin Again” which I never got a chance to watch. However, Adam Levine’s voice is always soothing.
Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 6.06.28 PM*Pumped Kicks – Foster The People
Pumped Kicks is kind of one of those weird songs; the beat is a little off, the instruments is a little weird, the voices are a little different. But something about all this weirdness mashes into a really addicting song.
Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 6.07.02 PM*Georgia – Vance Joy
This is one of the songs I can listen to on repeat for days without ending. Vance Joy’s voice is just so soothing (and the melody of this song as well). There’s just something about this song that I love when I’m reading.
Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 5.53.05 PM*Barcelona – George Ezra
George Ezra also has one of those warm voices that just take you to the destination the lyrics describe. The soothing guitar and soft beats of this song makes it a great song for reading and studying.
Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 6.05.36 PM*Skinny Love – Birdy
Another type of music I like to listen to when I’m reading are ballads. Skinny Love by Birdy is a really soft and emotional ballad. It makes me a little sad but it’s still soothing in a way.
Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 5.34.33 PM*Planes – Jason Mraz
On the line of ballads, Plane by Jason Mraz is also a favorite of mine. Jason Mraz has a really smooth voice that I really adore.

Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 5.44.40 PM*A Step You Can’t Take Back – Keira Knightley
Another song from the Begin Again soundtrack, (I really like this soundtrack can you tell?), this one is a little different but I like it as well.

Forgive me, I know my playlist has no rhyme or scheme to it. It’s honestly kind of random, but I need a little bit of everything in my music 😉

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy my playlist! Let me know what’s currently on yours below. Until next time!

1

Leave a Reply

