Blog · Book Review

Review: The Summer I Turned Pretty – Jenny Han

SAM_5451
*This is a nonspoiler review*
General

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han
Published May 2009 by Simon & Schuster
276 pages
Paperback // Box Set // Goodreads

Plot Summary
This novel is a sweet summer story about a girl name Belly. The story takes place in the summer home that Belly goes to every summer with her brother, her mom, her mom’s best friend, and their children, Conrad & Jeremiah. Since she was just a child, she had always been in love with Conrad. This was the summer she hoped for something to change. This is the first of the “Summer I Turned Pretty” trilogy.

Favorites
I really like Jenny Han’s writing style. It is concise and I felt like the pacing of the novel was great. It was a really good summer read. The plot was pretty cute (unless you’re not into cliché stuff), but no worries, it’s only a tad cliche.

Another thing I really liked was the flashbacks throughout the novel. The way that Han switched between the present and flashbacks was very smooth. Although there were a lot of flashbacks, the telling of the past didn’t interrupt the flow of the current day story. Instead, it provided the reader with the necessary background information without wasting the first 1/3 of the book doing so. I felt like this kept engagement high, as I was very interested and curious about the flashbacks that came up.

Not-so-faves
Although I really liked the pacing of the novel, I felt like there was not enough “action”. I know it’s a light read, but I felt like maybe a few more significant events could have taken place to add the current plot/storyline of the book. It felt like a set up novel, providing a starting point. Knowing that it’s a trilogy made this factor not bother me very much. Since this is not a stand-alone novel, this is some-what okay, because I know that there is more to the story.

Rating
4/5 stars

Final thoughts
This is my first experience reading a work by Jenny Han. I was really pleasantly surprised. My favorite part of the novel was that it was really sweet. It was like a taste of feeling what it felt like to be so young, be in love, and feel like it was our whole world. This made the book a very pleasant and relaxing read. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who’s looking for a light read. Don’t dive into expecting for something intense and for a crazy plotline because that’s not what it’s meant for. It’s just a light summer read. Despite that, I really liked it. It’s difficult to find novels that stick to simplicity instead of over complicating things. It would definitely be a good break if you’ve been pounding on all the intense reads.

That’s all for now, thank you for reading my review and I hope you enjoy it. My next read will be the 2nd novel of this trilogy. Hope you have a great day!

1

5 thoughts on “Review: The Summer I Turned Pretty – Jenny Han

  1. I read this a couple of years ago and didn’t particularly care for it. I really enjoyed Jenny Han’s simple writing style, but didn’t really care for Belly… But you made a lot of valid points! Nice review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

