Blog · Top 10

Top 10 Books I Need (May Edition)

I have a book buying problem, it’s no surprise. Who can ever have enough books though? I would go on a book buying ban… but honestly I’m not sure how long I would even be able to stick with it. So I made a plan, I can buy books, in moderation, and only if I really want to read them. This is a busy month, but I have made my TBR list, which I have neglected making a post about, but you can find it here. I also got a job at my school library this month (woo!). Working in a place surrounded by books funding my own growing collection of books, what more could I ask for?

This month is filled with new releases, new books, and my Amazon wishlist is every growing, when will I obtain them all? Not sure, but I sure do plan to get my hands on at least a few of these.

And now, I present to you… my top 10 books I need in the month of May. These books are categorized into different sections, in no particular order.

Sequels

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 4.11.44 PM1. The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion
Upon finishing The Rosie Project, I am extremely excited to start on the sequel which came out late 2014. The Rosie Project was AMAZING. One of my favorite adult contemporaries I’ve ever read, I gave it a 5/5 stars. If you haven’t seen my review, you can check it out here.
Spoiler Alert for those who haven’t read The Rosie Project yet.
This novel is supposed to pick up with where the Rosie Project ended off, Rosie and Don married. I’m so excited to read this, I need it in my life.

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 4.26.05 PM2. Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins
This is the last book in the Anna & the French Kiss companion series by Stephanie Perkins. I absolutely loved Anna & the French kiss. It is probably one of my top favorite contemporary romance novels (I honestly can’t pick a favorite if you asked me to).
I’m currently reading Lola and the Boy Next Door right now, which is the 2nd in this companion series. I really hope I can get Isla as well so I can read it once I finish Lola by the end of this month. Stephanie Perkins is such a great YA contemporary romance author.

New Releases

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 4.37.52 PM

3. The Improbable Theory of Ana & Zac by Bryan Katcher
As I mentioned before and you have probably noticed if you are a book watcher yourself, May is the month of new releases. This one comes out May 16th. The first thing that really caught my eye was obviously the cover, it’s so cute. I haven’t pre-ordered this yet, but I do plan to. I have never read anything by Bryan Katcher before. Nevertheless, the synopsis on Amazon seems interesting enough. It seems like an adventure contemporary type of  YA romance, supposedly those who liked Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist will like this (which is me).

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 4.44.49 PM

4. The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
I found out about this book from a booktuber I watch. I’m so sorry I honestly can’t remember who it was because I watch so many. Nevertheless, this book comes out on May 12th. This is supposed to be a retelling of One Thousand and One Nights / Arabian Nights. This is dear to my heart because my mom used to read excerpts from it as a bedtime story. However this being a retelling, I’m sure there will be some sort of twist to it. The cover is really beautiful and this is one I might preorder because it’s really intriguing.

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 5.03.27 PM

5. The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West
This book was just officially released today (May 5th). I’ve seen this book everywhere (on blogs, Youtube, Instagram). I’ve heard that its a really cute light YA romance read (who can have enough of those right?). I am extremely jealous of those who had the chance to read this before it came out and I look forward to getting my hands on my own copy to see what this rave is all about.

Dystopian 

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 5.12.06 PM

6. The Selection by Kiera Cass
As I mentioned on my Instagram, I’ve been looking for some Dystopian/fantasy reads. This is a genre I used to really love, I abandoned it around 2 years ago after the disappointing ending to the Delirium Trilogy. Nevertheless, this is a genre that I used to love so much, so I decided that I will get back into it.
This novel is one of the ones I’ve seen a lot of lately, since one of the sequels (I think so?) came out this month as well. I hope that I’ll enjoy this as much as everyone else seems to be.

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 5.19.16 PM

 7. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski
This is another one of the really hyped up dystopian reads I’ve seen around lately. This novel also had a sequel that came out a few months ago. Honestly, even after reading the synopsis of it, I can’t quite sum up what it’s about. All I know is that everyone seems to love it. I guess I’m just going to have to grab myself a copy to find out what it’s about.
P.S. The cover’s typography is simply breathtaking.

Other Books I need In My Life

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 5.19.02 PM

8. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
This is one of the books I’ve been so tempted to pick up. I’ve seen it on Amazon so many times, even saw it at Target the other day. Honestly, I don’t like the US edition of this novel. The typography on it is nice, don’t get me wrong… but I saw this version of it on Instagram & I knew that I’d much rather purchase this version. I found it on bookdepository and it has been in my cart since. I definitely am going to be doing a *small* haul from bookdespository soon. I heard it takes a little while to ship, so probably within a week or two so that it’ll arrive by the time summer starts for me.

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 5.37.18 PM

9. Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover
Colleen Hoover… She’s one of the authors that I keep hearing over and over again, yet I’ve never read anything written by her. I know… How is that possible? Years ago, I remember trying to start… Slammed? I believe that was the name of the novel, but I never got a chance to actually start. Hopefully soon, I get to pick up this book (or anything by Colleen Hoover really. I’ve heard great things about her and I feel like I’m definitely missing out.

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 5.37.33 PM

10. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
Jenny Han is also another author that I’ve never experienced. How? I’m not sure either. However, the other day, I did pick up the Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy box set. Hopefully I’ll be able to get to that soon, hopefully after I finish my May TBR (maybe?). I know a lot of people are excited about the sequel to this novel that is coming out the end of this month. Hopefully I’ll really like the Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy. If I do, I’m definitely picking up this book as well.

Wow, that definitely took me a lot longer than I had expected. I had a really hard time deciding which books would make this list, nevertheless, I think this is a pretty good sample from my current wishlist. If you enjoy these posts please let me know and I’ll definitely have more of them! (Maybe monthly/ bi-monthly)

What books do you plan on grabbing soon? Let me know! Thanks for reading and I hope you have a wonderful day.

1

Leave a Reply

