Blog · Book Review

Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door – Stephanie Perkins

2
**This is a nonspoiler review**
General

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
Published September 2013 by Speak (Original: September 2011 by Dutton Books)
338 pages
Paperback // Hardcover // Kindle // Goodreads

Plot Summary
Lola is different. She dresses in costumes, changing her identity from day to day. She has a boyfriend, Max, who’s a few years older than her which her dads don’t approve of. One day, the love of her life, Cricket Bell, comes back knocking into her life. The novel revolves around Lola’s adventure in finding herself and realizing what she really wants.

Favorites
I love Stephanie Perkin’s writing. The plot was well planned out and was executed very well. Another part I’d love to note is how concise her writing is, I am not a fan of books with too many fillers. Since this is the 2nd part in this companion series, I was anticipating the return of Anna and Etienne. I fell in love with their characters so hard, I was smiling so much when they appeared. Although they do not play a big role in this novel, it was great to see their characters
“live on”.
Another part I’d like to note is how non-cliche Lola’s story was. Although, to the core, it was a typical romance. The way it was played out made it a very refreshing and delightful read.

Not-so-faves
Overall, there was not much I didn’t like. The only thing I wish was a little different was the slow pace at the beginning of the novel. It was a tad slow, but it’s fine overall.

Rating
4.5/5 stars

Final Thoughts
Overall, this was a great light read, I have no particular complaints. Maybe because I fell too in love with Anna and Etienne, I felt a little bit missing with Lola and Cricket. I wish there was just a tad more focus on their relationship after they were finally together. Nevertheless, Perkins does a superb job with this novel and I look forward to reading Isla (the final in this companion series). I actually finished this book in one go basically, I stayed up til 1am to finish it. That’s the thing about Stephanie Perkin’s novels, once you start, you don’t want to put it down.

Thank you for reading my review! Hope you enjoy and if you like what you see, please follow my blog for more. The next book I’m reading will be the Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han. I actually bought this book last weekend in a small haul which will be part of my Mid-May haul. Until next time~

1

4 thoughts on “Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door – Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

