Blog · Book Review

Review: The Rosie Project – Graeme Simsion

SAM_5417

**This is a nonspoiler review**

General
The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
Published January 2013 by Simon & Schuster
304 pages
Paperback // Hardcover // Kindle // Goodreads

Plot Summary
This novel is about a man name Don Tillman who is a professor of genetics. He loves having a schedule; he loves order; he loves to plan everything out. He decides that it is time to start his “Wife Project” in order to find a suitable partner. His friend, Gene, soon sets him up with Rosie. Except, Rosie is everything he wasn’t looking for in a partner. This story revolves around the story of the two and Don’s adventure on finding a new side of himself.

Favorites
I love the writing style of Graeme Simsion. It is very clean and simple. This fits perfectly for a character like Don. Simsion does a great job with writing this novel, the characters he built for the novel are perfect. There’s a little bit of everyone. I also really liked how it was from a male POV. Although Don is not your typical male, it is always refreshing to read from a male POV. I don’t read adult contemporaries as much as I should, but I’m very glad I picked this one up. This novel is very reminds me of another contemporary Adult novel I’ve read before, unfortunately, I can’t quite remember the name at the moment…

Also, Don and Rosie’s relationship is amazing. It wasn’t cliche, it wasn’t cheesy. It was very delightful to see their relationship unfold.

Not-So-Faves
There’s not much about this book I didn’t like, I do wish it was longer though, it was barely edging on 300 pages. Good thing is, there’s a sequel.

Rating
5/5 Stars

Final Thoughts
This novel was a great light read. It shares the story of a man who was always perceived as weird, who never could fit in. He was intelligent, being a professor, but finding someone to be his life partner was a even more difficult task for him to tackle. I finished this novel in a few days, just a weekend actually. It was great, I honestly didn’t want to put it down unless I really had to leave. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for something a little different. I really wished I owned the sequel because I want to read it ASAP. I guess it’s going on my ginormous “to-buy” list.

Thanks for reading my review! The next book on my list is Lola and the Boy Next Door. Unfortunately, I am going to have a busy week so I have no idea when I’ll be able to start it… Until next time!
1

6 thoughts on “Review: The Rosie Project – Graeme Simsion

  1. This one has been on my TBR for a while and I can’t wait to read it! I’m anticipating this light Sheldon love story. Don totally reminds me of Sheldon from Big Bang Theory, haha. 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

