Blog · Book Review

Review: My Life Next Door – Huntley Fitzpatrick


SAM_5266

**This is a nonspoiler review**

General

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Published June 2012 by Speak
394 pages
Paperback // Hardcover // Kindle // Goodreads

Plot Summary
Samantha Reed is the star of this novel, she watches the Garretts from across the lawn. Her mom always criticized their family and the things they did. However, this summer, her mom is too busy with her campaign and a new man named Clay. One night, Jase Garrett climbs onto her rooftop and that’s the start of their love story. This is a novel about family, friendship, and relationships.

Favorites
I liked the simplicity of the novel, there wasn’t a lot of unnecessary drama coming from Samantha, which is typical for YA romance genre. There was something about Samantha’s character that was really intriguing, I can’t quite describe it, but she made the novel much more enjoyable. Also, I felt like Jase and Samantha’s romance perfectly resembles the first love head first sky diving romance perfectly. The two are young and in love, and that’s basically what we get majority of the book.

Not-so-faves
The short chapters kind of irritated me. I found it unnecessary that some of the chapters were only 6-8 pages long. There was 53 chapters by the end of this 394 pages making it a daunting 7.4 pages per chapter. I don’t know if it’s just me, but it made the book feel very choppy. With that being said, I feel like there was too many filler chapters, where nothing really happened, but was like the transition change between two scenes.
Also, the ending was not very satisfying for me. The conclusion felt like no conclusion. If it had rolled on for just a tad bit more maybe on Jase and Samantha’s relationship, I felt like that would have been a good ending.

Rating
3/5 Stars

Final Thoughts
Honestly, I wanted to love this book, I really did. I hated that I didn’t love it. However, I honestly couldn’t. I felt like it  wasn’t until maybe chapter 25-ish that I felt truly invested into the plot. There was no hook at the beginning. Once it got into Jase and Samantha’s relationship, I felt like it was more enjoyable, but their story is a tad unrealistic and a bit cheesy (which is expected from a YA romance, I know). The dynamics of the different relationships, Gracie and Clay, Nan and Samantha, etc. It just didn’t work for me.   It was a light summer read, although its not summer right now. Unfortunately, I felt like it wasn’t the book for me and gave it a 3/5 rating.

Thank you for reading my review! Hope you enjoyed it. Do let me know if you have read this book and your thoughts on it! My May TBR is coming up soon I hope you are excited as I am! 🙂

1

Leave a Reply

