Blog · Book Review

Review: Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

SAM_5232

SAM_5234
General

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Released September 2013
438 pages
$5.90? (paperback) / $11.39 (hardcover) / $4.99 (kindle)

SAM_5233

Plot Summary
Cath and Wren are twins; they’ve been inseparable their whole lives. Now that they are in college, Wren wants to explore something beyond their sister hood. This leaves Cath alone, with her life as the writer of a fan-fiction about Simon Snow (whom she is obsessed about). This novel is told in a third person point of view centering around Cath’s freshmen year of college and all that comes along with it: her out of the norm roommate, her boyfriend or not so boyfriend Levi, her fiction writing college class, her dad, her mom, and more.

Favorites
This is the perfect offbeat, quirky, coming of age novel. It’s so pleasantly different from other YA novels I’ve read. One of my favorite parts of the novel was how well rounded it was. It didn’t just focus on one aspect, but all the aspects an incoming freshmen could face (i.e. love, friends, family, school etc.). I loved Cath, she is perfection. She’s different, she’s not your typical college freshmen. Which is perfectly fine, it’s interesting because in my personal experience, most of the books written about college students are almost never true. As un-relatable as Cath was to her peers, the more related she was to me.

The third point of view was really interesting as well, it felt like I was watching a movie, about Cath’s journey.

Spoiler Alert
I felt like the relationship between Levi and Cath was just heart wrenching. My heart cried with pain when Levi told her it was “just a kiss”. I was screaming, “NO, NO IT WASN’T, DON’T DO THIS LEVI.” But when Cath finally let her guard down, all their moments gave me little butterflies.

Not-so-faves
I felt like the first 10 chapters of the novel was a tad slow, some of the scenes were a little repetitive and it would have totally sucked me in from the beginning if the pace was a little faster.

Spoiler Alert
The relationship between Cath and her mom just seemed incomplete. I wish it went on a little further, I felt like I would have felt more satisfied if there was more than 1 scene of the two colliding.

Rating
5/5

Final Thoughts
The only novel I’ve read before by Rainbow Rowell was Eleanor & Park, which was perfection. It was the first book I read in years, last summer. It got me out of my “reading-block” — until I went into another one for another half year. Anyways, I had great expectations for this book. The first part of the book was a little bit odd for me. It felt a little offbeat, I guess. I think it really took me a few chapters before I was immensely into the book. But boy, did I fall hard when I started to fall. I finished this book in 2 sittings – with around 300 pages in the 2nd sitting. I feel like that’s the magic Rowell brings into the book, her words are like spells that I couldn’t walk away from. Overall, I really enjoyed this novel and definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to give it a try, it’s definitely a refreshing read.

Thanks for joining me today! Time to pick out another read again, I’m definitely on a roll~

1

*PS. I got the lovely flower clip art in the title image from here, she has really cute graphics and resources on her blog.

2 thoughts on “Review: Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

