Blog · Hauls

Haul: Book Sales & Online Deals

5a
Hello everyone, today I’m back with another book haul.. Wait what? I know, I have no self control… Here’s a short (not really) spoof about how this came about. If you want to go straight to haul, feel free to continue and scroll down past the next paragraph to skip this little rant.

I was on the internet looking up book subscriptions when a link for doubleday book club showed up. Long story short they were advertising that you can get your first book for free, unsuspectingly I decided to give it a shot because I’ve tried snack boxes before where the first month is a free trial. After using the “free” credit, I searched up the website & found that this company is a source of many people’s complaints. The membership agreement is filled with traps meant to basically more or less scam your money. The cancellation process is such a terrible process, I’m still in the process of sorting it out. Nevertheless, I will definitely provide an update when this issue is resolved, if anyone is interested. For now, stay away from that place.

Anyways, I decided that Amazon and book stores shall remain my best friend, these online subscriptions aren’t worth the trouble. I felt like I needed a little book retail therapy so I decided to look through my book wish list on Amazon and grab some.

5
I purchased 3 books from Amazon and the total cost of all 3 was only around $21. I feel like that’s a really good buy considering that I’ve heard a lot of great things about these novels. I bought these around 10pm at night and they arrived by 6pm the next day. I can’t not love Amazon Prime. I actually purchased one more book, but it was from a secondhand seller so it will probably not come in for another week or two, I will include that in my next haul.

The first of the 3 I purchased from Amazon was My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzgerald.
8
I
 purchased this one in a paperback edition for $6.00. The little splice of the novel on Amazon was just intriguing enough I had to get my hands on one of them. The spine of the novel is really cute as well.

The second one I purchased was Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins.
6I purchased the paperback version of this book for $7.66. I thought the quote on the cover was really cute “A lady never starts a fight… but she’ll finish it.” The font + girly color scheme on the cover is a plus.

The last of the 3 from Amazon is Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz.
7
This one was only $5.92 for the paperback edition. There is something about the mysterious blue sky on the cover that makes me want to own this book, I’ve heard great things about this novel as well. Definitely excited to read it.

Aside from my Amazon haul, there actually was a book sale at a library by my house. I saw a sign advertising it on the way home from school yesterday so I wanted to drop by today to see what it was like. This is honestly my first book sale so I didn’t know what to expect.

9

I went later in the afternoon, only around 1.5 hours before they were closing so I’m pretty sure I missed all the good stuff from earlier in the morning. Paperbacks were only 50 cents each & hardcovers were $1 a piece. I never knew book sales had such great deals, I was able to pick up 4 after looking through the books for around 15 minutes.

The first one I picked up was Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.
13
This was actually on my wish list for Amazon and I stumbled into it luckily while looking through a pile of books in a box. It wasn’t in the best condition but I cleaned the cover a little and it’s perfect for me. Old books need some lovin’ too. If you are interested in this book, you can find it here for $9.52.

The second book I picked up was Straight Talking by Jane Green.
11
If you are also interested in trying this book out for yourself, you can find it here for $11.83. I honestly just picked up this book out of randomness while looking through the romance section and have no idea what to expect.

The 3rd book I picked up was Lost & Found by Jacqueline Sheehan.
12
This cover had a really cute dog with adorable puppy eyes and I couldn’t say no to it. If you want to grab a copy for yourself, you can find it here for $11.94.

The last of the books I picked up from the book sale was Dixieland Sushi by Cara Lockwood.
10
I picked up this book last minute as I was about to go pay, the title of it caught my eye. Dixieland? Sushi? How do those things even go together? I don’t know either, but it had intrigued me enough I had to get it. Also, this copy happened to be in extremely good condition as well. Besides the natural aging of the pages probably from sitting on the shelf too long, you can’t even tell it’s been used before.  If you want to get yourself in on this too, you can find it here for $8.00.

I couldn’t be happier about my book sale haul, I got all 4 books for a whooping $2. I am so excited to dive into my books and will definitely attend more book sales in the future.

Thank you so much for reading. Let me know where your favorite places are to find great buys on books! Hope you enjoyed this post, and definitely I won’t be doing another haul until I finish at least 5 more books — or at least that will be my goal 🙂

1

3 thoughts on “Haul: Book Sales & Online Deals

  1. That’s a nice haul and such beautiful pics too! Eat, Pray, Love is definitely one of my favorites.
    I’ve hear that Book Outlet is a great place for deals on books. I haven’t tried them yet but I plan to soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

