Blog · Book Review

Review: Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetGeneral
Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
Released December 2010
372 Pages
$6.12 (Paperback) / $12.91 (Hardcover)

Plot Summary
Anna Oliphant is a girl from Atlanta who is forced, by her father, to attend a school in France for her senior year of high school. In this school, she meets new friends and this dazzling boy people call “St. Claire.” She instantly falls head over heels for him (I mean, why wouldn’t she?), unfortunately he is already taken. This novel revolves around Anna’s constant struggling between doing the right thing and following her heart.

Favorites
I can’t even fathom all my favorite parts of this novel into words. I loved it all. How charming Etienne was, how they gave me butterflies, how I felt like I was Anna. It was the perfect, not-so-perfect love story. There was funny; there was cute; there was romance; there was a little bit of everything, (what I love the most). Additionally, I fell in love with Anna (her character). The development of her character, image, and personality was definitely on point. I wanted what Anna wanted. It hurt me when Anna was hurt. I feel like this connection I had with Anna and made her and Etienne’s love story made me feel so strongly.

Not-so-faves
ELLIE. (One reason being that she kept Etienne away from Anna), another being that although she was so IMPORTANT to the novel, she was mentioned. The readers can only scrape together an image of what Ellie was like, what her and St. Claire were, everything. I felt like Ellie’s character could have been a little more well developed.

Rating
5/5 Stars

Final Thoughts
Spoiler Alert

I gave this novel a 5/5 stars because it was addicting. I finished the novel after around 3 sessions of reading. I literally swallowed up the last 150 pages in one go because I couldn’t bare to go to sleep without finishing it. Honestly, I started this novel a long time ago, when it first came out. I lost the book and never really found the interest to continue. Nevertheless, despite being almost 5 years since it first released, I still hear great reviews about it all the time, so I decided to give it a 2nd go. I honestly didn’t remember much when I started reading it, but it pulled me in fast. St. Claire and Anna’s imperfect love story was just perfect. My heart raced when they spent the night sleeping together. I cried when Anna’s heart was broken after he kissed her for the first time. I was cheering for joy when they finally ended up together. The ending could have lasted a little longer, in my opinion — but this can be the sole purpose of me not wanting the book to end… But I’m happy, because in the end, they realized they were both madly in love with each other…

“For the two of us, home isn’t a place. It is a person. And we are finally home.”

It’s cheesy, but hey, it’s a YA romance novel, what do you expect?

All in all, this book made me smile so much and it’s definitely on my list of books I’d re-read. I most definitely would recommend it if you are looking for a semi- light romance YA read.
Thanks for reading, hope you enjoy my review! I probably won’t be starting another book for a couple of days, need some time to get over my post- Anna and St. Claire feels & concentrate on midterms. Nevertheless, that’s it for now! Please let me know if you have any book suggestions that I should read next or comments below.

1

3 thoughts on “Review: Anna and the French Kiss – Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

